Skip to main content
DistrictCampus
CAMPUS

School Counseling

School Counseling Department

  • Phone Number: (865) 457-2611               

  • Fax Number: (865) 463-1134

CHS Counselors

Counselors Students Served Email Ext.
Carrie Jenkins, Dept. Head A – D cjenkins@acs.ac 5112
Morgan Bradley S – Z mbradley@acs.ac 5113
Meredith Brown E – K mbrown@acs.ac 5114
Brittany Sweet L – R bsweet@acs.ac 5115

 

 

Office Managers      
Susan Braden Counseling Secretary sbraden@acs.ac 5110
Suzanne Stout Registrar sstout@acs.ac 5111

 

Announcements

Happy Holidays!

US History SDC Exam – Tuesday, December 6

PreCalculus SDC Exam – Thursday, December 8

Did you miss our Senior Parent Night? Get caught up here!

 


Scholarships

East Tennessee Foundation Scholarships – Several different scholarships available!  Deadline to apply is February 1, 2023.

Steven L. Coffey Memorial Scholarship – $1500-2500 per year for 4 years; Seniors who plan to attend TCAT and have a 2.5 GPA should apply!  Must demonstrat financial need.  Deadline to apply is February 1, 2023.

Bill T. Hicks Scholarship Program (Y-12) – Open to seniors that have a 2.5 GPA, or higher, and that are a member of Y-12 FCU. Deadline for the first round of the application process is January 15th. Click the link for more information!

 


ACT

Register at www.act.org

 ACT Registration Fee $63/ACT Plus Writing $88

See Mrs. Jenkins in Counseling if you qualify for a fee waiver

 

Test Date Registration Deadline Late Registration Deadline
September 10, 2022 August 5, 2022 August 19, 2022
October 22, 2022 September 16, 2022 September 30, 2022
December 10, 2022 November 4, 2022 November 11, 2022
February 11, 2023 January 6, 2023 January 20, 2023
April 15, 2023 March 10, 2023 March 24, 2023
June 10, 2023 May 19, 2023 May 19, 2023

 

ACT College Readiness Benchmarks

English: 18     Math: 22     Reading: 22     Science: 23


TN Ready Graduate

Our goal at CHS is to have every senior become a TN Ready Graduate!  Here are the ways to achieve this milestone:

  • Get an ACT Composite score of a 21 or higher
  • Complete 4 Early Post Secondary Opportunities (EPSOs) such as: a) dual enrollment, b) dual credit, c) AP classes
  • Complete at least 2 EPSOs and earn one industry certification  such as: a) machining, b) mechatronics, c) CNA, d) EMS, e) cosmetology, f) welding, g) Microsoft
  • Complete at least 2 EPSOs and get a 31 or higher on the ASVAB (military career assessment)

 


Drivers Permit Form Information

Sign-ups and Pick-ups: Students (not parents) are required to sign up for a Drivers Permit or Drivers Reinstatement Form.  Students can sign up before school, in between classes, during lunch and after school.  Students can return in 2 days to pick up the form during the same allotted times.  The permit form expires in 30 days.   

Eligibility: Students must be passing 3 out of 4 of their classes on the last nine week grading period and on their Semester 2 and Semester 4 report cards. Students must also have no more than 10 consecutive unexcused absences or 15 total unexcused absences in a single semester.